The Rule of Three, Part IV

My foray into teaching at the ETBU writers’ conference led to another opportunity to teach at a local conference. A lady who took my class at ETBU asked me if I’d be willing to teach the same material at a one-day conference last July. Of course I said yes, especially since I was going to be paid enough to cover my gas money to a conference I really wanted to attend later that month.

I had never heard of the East Texas Writers Guild nor of their conference before being asked to speak. What a pleasant surprise this experience was! The Guild is a class act and one of their members was in touch with me frequently in the months leading up to the conference. I was allowed to bring a “helper” and was treated like a celebrity. (At least it felt that way to me.)

I enjoyed the conference so much that this year I went back as an attendee. Again, it was so well organized and they had all the bases covered, including goody bags for everyone and a well-stocked buffet table and plenty of soft drinks and coffee (not that I can have either of those things!).

The conference is very affordable and is only one day. For me it’s less than an hour’s drive away, so I’m sure I will go to this one a third time, and maybe more. If you are new to writing conferences, this is a great one for getting your feet wet. No high pressure.

Leave a Reply

