Completion Report

I am continuing do the rest of the WIPjoy posts, even though technically I have finished my novel, tentatively titled Sohalie’s Search. This has been a long journey for me. Sohalie’s Search is my sixth completed novel. All the others were written in a much shorter timespan–usually within a couple of months.

This one started in a class I attended during the Realm Makers conference of 2015. I had the kernel of an idea, and I wrote it down. Over the next few weeks, I kept thinking of ways to make it more awesome, including setting it in a story world I created for two of my other novels, though on a different part of the continent.

I started writing in November of 2015 for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month). The goal is to write 50,000 words in the month of November, and somehow I managed it. However, I knew I was only about halfway into the story and there was no time to keep writing in December.

The story languished until summer of last year, when I managed to squeeze out a couple of chapters. I thought maybe I could finish it during 2016 NaNo, but I simply did not have time to write. So when some of my fellow writers suggested having a “JaNoWriMo,” (January Novel Writing Month) I figured this was my big chance. It has been hard to put in the necessary hours and brain work, but I did finally finish on Tuesday morning.

Of course, there are many revisions that will need to be done, but as I’ve recently been reminded, my manuscript at the moment is the worst it’s ever going to be! I love the story and it was a bit of a departure for me as it’s my first story written in the first person. The main character, Sohalie (pronounced SO-hah-lee) narrates most of the story, but I have two other first-person narrators who have their own side of things to tell.

Now I will work on revising one of my other novels while letting this one sit for a month or two. I also have a great idea for a short story, so I may give into the temptation to work on that also.

But really, my first priority ought to be trying again to find an agent now that I have six completed novels. It’s just so intimidating . . .

Leave a Reply

