WIPjoy #3

How do you get to know your characters?

I am a “pantser” which means that I do not spend massive amounts of time filling out character profiles or “interviewing” my characters ahead of time. They reveal themselves to me through their actions. Sometimes they surprise me. Sometimes they do not do what I intended or planned for them to do, but I’ve learned that their plans are almost always better in terms of the story! I do have a good idea of what they look like, but I’ve never gone so far as to find a picture that looks like each character for a Pinterest board or anything like that.

Leave a Reply

