Down & Up

A few days ago, I received my first Realm Makers rejection for this year. It didn’t sting as much as it sometimes does, because I hadn’t really expected anything to come of that particular contact. Nevertheless, it was frustrating and discouraging. One more instance of the prize being eternally just out of reach.

Recently, I have been wondering about the fate of a story I submitted during my early summer submitting frenzy. All the others I submitted had been rejected, but this story had been “short listed” and I thought I would have heard by a month ago whether or not they had decided to publish it. I checked out the website and didn’t see anything helpful.

This evening, I checked my email, and there it was. My story “Dragon Moon” is going to be in the Fall 2016 issue of The Colored Lens, an online fantasy magazine. I have no idea if I’m actually going to be paid, but I’m pretty excited nonetheless. Dragon Moon is one of my favorite stories and I really hoped that someone would want to publish it. This was my fourth time to submit it.

What’s ironic to me is that for this story I broke one of my self-imposed rules, which is not to write about dragons. True, it is hardly a typical dragon story, but it does have a dragon! I will of course shout it from the rooftops when the fall edition of the magazine comes out.

Meanwhile, you can still get the Realmscapes Anthology  on Amazon. It contains my story “Doomsafe.”

Leave a Reply

