Is NaNo Making Me a Bad Writer?

As I believe I said before, I have done a month-long writing blitz several times before, but usually in July. The one time I did it in November I don’t think I signed up on the official NaNoWriMo site like I did this year, so no one was holding me accountable for my word totals.

I broke the 10,000 word mark today, and hope to get another couple thousand words written before it’s over, but I have noticed an interesting phenomenon. Over time, I have learned to catch myself when I use unnecessary words–the word “that” being the most egregious example. When I see a useless “that” in the lines I’ve just written, I delete it at once. I do the same for most adverbs and suchlike.

Now, though, I think I can’t afford to lose those words! Word count is more important than concision! I can always take all the extra words out after NaNo is over!

Do you see how warped my thinking has become? I’m kind of disgusted with myself!

One thought on “Is NaNo Making Me a Bad Writer?

Leave a Reply

